All the chats in Scotland

  1. Chats in Aberdeen City
  2. Chats in Aberdeenshire
  3. Chats in Angus
  4. Chats in Argyll and Bute
  5. Chats in Clackmannanshire
  6. Chats in Dumfries and Galloway
  7. Chats in Dundee City
  8. Chats in East Ayrshire
  9. Chats in East Dunbartonshire
  10. Chats in East Lothian
  11. Chats in East Renfrewshire
  12. Chats in Edinburgh
  13. Chats in Eilean Siar
  14. Chats in Falkirk
  15. Chats in Fife
  16. Chats in Glasgow City
  17. Chats in Highland
  18. Chats in Inverclyde
  19. Chats in Midlothian
  20. Chats in Moray
  21. Chats in North Ayrshire
  22. Chats in North Lanarkshire
  23. Chats in Orkney Islands
  24. Chats in Perth and Kinross
  25. Chats in Renfrewshire
  26. Chats in Shetland Islands
  27. Chats in South Ayrshire
  28. Chats in South Lanarkshire
  29. Chats in Stirling
  30. Chats in The Scottish Borders
  31. Chats in West Dunbartonshire
  32. Chats in West Lothian

Scotland is the northernmost of the four constituent nations of the United Kingdom. Together with England and Wales, it is part of the island of Great Britain, covering a third of its total area. It also consists of more than 790 islands. It limits to the north and west with the Atlantic Ocean. To the east with the North Sea, to the south with England and to the southwest with the North Channel and the Irish Sea. The Scottish territory covers 78 772 km², and its population is estimated at 5 347 600 inhabitants in 2014, which gives a population density of 67.9 inhabitants per km².

The capital is Edinburgh, while Glasgow is the largest city, and its metropolitan area concentrates 40% of the total Scottish population. Scotland takes its name from "Scotus," a Latin term meaning "Irish." This refers to Irish Gaelic colonists, a country that the Romans initially called "Scotia." The Irish who colonized present-day Scotland were known as "Scotians." Scoti ». The Romans of the High Middle Ages used the name "Caledonia" to refer to the current Scotland. The Kingdom of Scotland was an independent state until 1707, date in which the Act of Union with England was signed, to create the Kingdom of Great Britain. The union did not entail an alteration of the legal system proper to Scotland, which has since been different from that of Wales, England and Northern Ireland, which is why it is considered in international law as a distinct legal entity.

The survival of its own laws, and of a different educational and religious system are part of the Scottish culture and its development throughout the centuries. Emerged in the nineteenth century, the Scottish independence movement has gained influence since the late twentieth century. Represented by the Scottish National Party, which advocates for Scottish independence and obtained an absolute majority in the Scottish Parliament in the May 2011 elections. In 2014, the Scottish government and the Conservative government of David Cameron reached an agreement to propose a referendum on Scottish independence that was held on September 18 of that same year, gaining continuity in the United Kingdom by 10.6 points.