All the chats in Australia

  1. Chats in ACT
  2. Chats in New South Wales
  3. Chats in Northern Territory
  4. Chats in Queensland
  5. Chats in South Australia
  6. Chats in Tasmania
  7. Chats in Victoria
  8. Chats in Western Australia

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia is a sovereign country of Oceania, whose form of government is the federal constitutional parliamentary monarchy. The country occupies the main continental mass of the platform called Sahul, as well as some islands in the Pacific, Indian and Antarctic oceans. The countries closest to Australia are Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the French dependency of New Caledonia to the northeast, and New Zealand to the southeast. Australia is the sixth largest country in the world with an area of ​​7 741 220 km² Its capital, Canberra, is located in the Australian Capital Territory.

The population of the country in 2011 was about 21.5 million inhabitants, concentrated mainly in the large coastal cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and the capital Canberra. Australia has been inhabited for at least forty-six thousand years by the Australian aborigines. His discovery would have occurred after the sporadic visits of Spaniards and Portuguese who explored the northern and western coast of Australia, without realizing that it was a new continent to confuse it with islands. The explorations started in the seventeenth century were continued by fishermen Dutch, explorers and European merchants. So far it is argued that the first to disembark on the eastern coasts was the British navigator James Cook, who arrived in New Zealand in 1769 and Australian lands in 1770. Because of this, the eastern half of the continent was claimed by Britain in 1770, and in 1788 a penal colony was established in New South Wales.

Due to the settling of settlers, their demographic growth and the exploration of new areas, during the nineteenth century five more British colonies were established. On January 1,1901, the six colonies were federated forming the Confederation of Australia. Since its establishment it has maintained a liberal democratic political system and has continued to be a monarchy within the British Commonwealth of Nations. In the conventional division in continents, Australia is encompassed in Oceania, which also includes the Pacific islands. However, English speakers often talk about the "Australian continent" without Australia, from a geological point of view, constituting a continent. New Zealand and the adjacent islands also do not conform a continent with Australia when not belonging to the Sahul platform, but they are usually associated with it by historical and political proximity.