All the chats in Guanacaste

  1. Chats in Abangares
  2. Chats in Bagaces
  3. Chats in Cañas
  4. Chats in Carrillo
  5. Chats in La Cruz
  6. Chats in Liberia
  7. Chats in Nicoya
  8. Chats in Santa Cruz
  9. Chats in Tilarán

Guanacaste is the 5th province of Costa Rica, located in the extreme northwest of the country. It is bordered on the north by the Republic of Nicaragua, on the east by Alajuela, on the south by Puntarenas and on the west by the Pacific Ocean. It has an area of ​​10 140 km². Due to its extension it is the second largest province in the country, but also the most unpopulated, in which 326 953 people live. It is divided into 11 cantons and 47 districts. Its head is Liberia, located 210 kilometers from San José. Other important cities are Nicoya and Santa Cruz.

The territory of Guanacaste comprises most of the old Party of Nicoya, which was annexed to the country on July 25,1824. Its relief combines the volcanic peaks of the Guanacaste mountain range with wide plains that open towards the Pacific. The main geographical features are the peninsula of Santa Elena to the northwest, the Nicoya peninsula to the southeast, which is the largest in the country and encompasses the Gulf of Nicoya. In the center is the tectonic depression of the Tempisque valley. It has large expanses of plains, which makes it land suitable for raising livestock and cultivating grains, especially those formed by the valley of the Tempisque River, which is why the province receives the nickname of "La Pampa" and also "the lowlands".

Guanacaste is famous for its landscapes, its beaches that border the Pacific Ocean, and a much more sunny and dry climate than in the rest of the country, which makes it one of the main tourist destinations in Costa Rica. In the province is the Guanacaste Conservation Area, which is a World Heritage Site declared by Unesco in 1999. It includes, among others, the Santa Rosa National Park, the Guanacaste National Park and the Rincon de la Old, covering 1470 km² of protected areas. In Guanacaste you can also find the national parks Palo Verde and Barra Honda. It has one of the few blue areas in the world, on the Nicoya Peninsula. The population data for the Guanacaste region date back to 12,000 years, one of the oldest in the country. During the pre-Columbian era, it was inhabited first by the corobicíes, of culture of the Intermediate Area, and then by Chorotega and Nahua groups, of Mesoamerican culture.

Some of the cultural expressions of these groups, such as Nicoya pottery, have survived to this day and are Costa Rica's national heritage. In the Nicoya Peninsula is the Matambú Indigenous Reserve. Guanacaste is the cradle of many aspects of Costa Rican folklore, such as music, instruments such as marimba and quijongo, traditional dances such as the Guanacaste spot, gastronomy derived from corn and livestock, and the culture of the life of the farm and the field.