All the chats in Cantón Cotacachi

  1. Free chat in Cotacachi
Cantón Cotacachi

Santa Ana de Cotacachi is a canton of the province of Imbabura in the north of Ecuador. Its cantonal head is the city of Cotacachi. It was founded in 1544 by Fray Pedro de la Peña, and constitutes the largest canton of the province of Imbabura. It is the jurisdiction formed on the basis of the Municipality of Cotacachi, the city of Cotacachi and its nearby towns, which form an important conurbation around the Cotacachi Volcano. The Cotacachi canton is divided into 3 Zonal Administrations: Urban, Andean and Subtropical, which contain 2 urban parishes and 8 rural and suburban parishes. The urban parishes are divided into neighborhoods. The population of the area is 40,036 inhabitants, it has an area of ​​1726 km².

In 2000 it was declared an "ecological canton", preserving its green areas and fauna through the Cotacachi Cayapas Ecological Reserve. His previous mayor for the period 2009 - 2014 was Alberto Anrango for Alianza País. Its current mayor for the period 2015-2019 is Jomar Cevallos, founder of the Ally Kawsay movement.