All the chats in Morona-Santiago

  1. Chats in Cantón Gualaquiza
  2. Chats in Cantón Morona
  3. Chats in Cantón Palora
  4. Chats in Cantón Sucúa

The Province of Morona Santiago is one of the 24 provinces that make up the Republic of Ecuador, located in the south center of the country, in the geographical area known as the Amazon region, mainly on the outer flanks of the western mountain range in the west and the extensive plain amazonian to the east. Its administrative capital is the city of Macas, which is also its largest and most populated city. It occupies a territory of about 25,690 km², being the second province of the country by extension, behind Pastaza.

Bordered on the north by the province of Pastaza, north-west with the province of Tungurahua, on the west by the provinces of Chimborazo, Cañar and Azuay and east by the provinces of Condorcanqui and Datem del Marañón, belonging to Peru. In the territory of Morón, 147,940 people live, according to the last national census, being the nineteenth most populated in the country and the second most populated of the Amazon. The Province of Morona Santiago is constituted by 12 cantons, with their respective urban and rural parishes. According to the last territorial ordinance, the province of Morona Santiago will belong to a region also included by the provinces of Azuay and Cañar, although it is not officially conformed, called the South Central Region. Its economy is based on trade, tourism and agriculture. The largest extraction industries in the province are made up of timber and agriculture. The provision of services as civil servants, public employees, small industry and manufacturing continue in importance.

The moronense jungles are cradle of 3 indigenous nationalities of the Amazonian Region of Ecuador: the Achuar, the Shiwiar and the Shuar. He had different migratory periods from the Upanos. Spanish colonization took place in 1549, when Hernando de Benavente got permission to explore the "lands of Macas", and with 150 men departed from Cuenca, and advanced to meet the resistance of the Shuar people. Precursor of the province would be the Government of Macas. After the independence war and the annexation of Ecuador to the Gran Colombia, the Provinces of Chimborazo and Azuay were created on June 25,1824, in which the current territory of Morón was within its limits. On November 10,1953, the 16th province of the country, the Province of Morona Santiago, was created when it dismembered from the Province of Santiago Zamora.