All the chats in Sri Lanka

  1. Chats in Central
  2. Chats in Eastern Province
  3. Chats in North Central
  4. Chats in North Western
  5. Chats in Northern Province
  6. Chats in Sabaragamuwa
  7. Chats in Southern
  8. Chats in Uva
  9. Chats in Western
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, officially, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is an island sovereign country of Asia, located in the Bay of Bengal, whose form of government is the semi-presidential republic. Its territory is organized into nine provinces and twenty-four districts. The island was known in antiquity as "Lanka","Lankadvīpa","Simoundou","Taprobane","Serendib" and "Selan", becoming popularly known as the "island of a thousand names". During its colonization, the island took the name of «Ceylon», which continued to be used later.

Its particular shape and its proximity to India caused it to be called "The Tear of India." Due to its location on the road of the main sea routes, Sri Lanka is a strategic naval link between western Asia and Southeast Asia, and has been a center of Buddhist religion and culture of antiquity. Today it is a multireligious and multi-ethnic country, in which almost a third of the population is a follower of religions other than Buddhism, especially Hinduism, Christianity and Islam. The Sinhalese community is the majority. The Tamils, who are concentrated in the north and east of the island, constitute the most important ethnic minority. Other communities include Arab Muslims, Malays and burghers. Famous for the production and export of cinnamon, tea, coffee, rubber and coconut, Sri Lanka has a progressive and modern industrial economy and the highest income per capita in South Asia. The natural beauty of Sri Lanka in its tropical forests, beaches and landscape, as well as its rich cultural heritage, make it a world-famous tourist destination.

After more than two thousand years of local governments by kingdoms, parts of Sri Lanka were colonized by Portugal and the Netherlands from the sixteenth century, before control of the entire country was ceded to the British Empire in 1815. During the Second World War, Sri Lanka served as an important base for the allied forces in the fight against the Japanese Empire. A nationalist political movement emerged in the country at the beginning of the 20th century, in order to obtain political independence, which was finally granted by the British after the peace negotiations in 1948. The history of Sri Lanka has been marked for over two decades because of an ethnic conflict between the national government and the insurgent movement of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam. In early 2002, the two sides in conflict agreed on a ceasefire, which was repeatedly broken on both sides.

In early 2009, the national government launched an offensive against the Tigers, which lasted several months and resulted in the annihilation of the guerrillas and the death of their high command, but at a very high cost of civilian lives.