All the chats in Sierra Leone

  1. Chats in Eastern Province
  2. Chats in North West
  3. Chats in Northern Province
  4. Chats in Southern Province
  5. Chats in Western Area
Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone, officially the Republic of Sierra Leone is a West African country. It limits to the north with Guinea, to the southeast with Liberia and to the southwest with the Atlantic Ocean. His name is an adaptation of the Portuguese version: Serra Leoa, whose meaning was "Sierra / Montaña Leona". During the 18th century it was an important center for the slave trade. Like its neighboring country Liberia, Sierra Leone was founded primarily to establish freed slaves, who founded the country's capital, Freetown, in 1791. In 1808, Freetown became a colony of the British Crown, passing the rest of the country under the British protectorate in 1896. The colony and the protectorate united to achieve independence in 1961.

Between 1991 and 2001, Sierra Leone has suffered the consequences of a devastating civil war. The power war left more than 50,000 people dead, much of the country's infrastructure destroyed, and more than two million Sierra Leoneans displaced as refugees in neighboring countries. In January 2002, the President of Sierra Leone, Ahmad Tejan Kabbah, fulfilled his campaign promise by ending the civil war, with the help of the British Government, ECOWAS and the United Nations. Sierra Leone was one of the countries plagued by the Ebola epidemic of 2014-2016 along with Liberia and Guinea, in whose countries more than 11,300 people have died in total.